Skip to the content of the web site.

Atelier Pensez aux Maths!

!!! SET ALT TEXT !!!

Pensez aux Maths! (TAM) est un atelier d’une journée pour les jeunes femmes, et les personnes d'autres genres sous-représentés* dans les mathématiques. Cet atelier est conçu pour susciter l'enthousiasme pour les mathématiques et montrer que les mathématiques sont amusantes, pertinentes, et mènent à des carrières passionnantes. Les participantes rencontreront des diplômées de mathématiques de l’Université de Waterloo travaillant dans différents domaines, et participeront à des activités pour explorer divers domaines d’applications des mathématiques.

Public visé

Les jeunes femmes et les personnes d'autres genres sous-représentés dans le domaine des mathématiques* sont invitées à candidater. Elles doivent être en 9e ou 10e année, avoir un intérêt pour les mathématiques et fréquenter actuellement une école secondaire ou un collège canadien. Les participantes ne doivent pas avoir assisté à un atelier similaire.

Détails des ateliers courants

SVP voir la page anglaise pour lieux dates, endroits et formulaire d'inscription.

Informations complémentaires

Merci de contacter notre responsable de TAM pour plus de détails.

*Pourquoi ce public ?

Les mathématiques et l'informatique sont des outils puissants, et la diversité des scientifiques dans ces domaines augmente le potentiel d'impact positif. L'une des initiatives du Centre d'Éducation en Mathématiques et en Informatique est d'encourager une meilleure diversité des genres dans les domaines des mathématiques et de l'informatique. Consultez https://uwaterloo.ca/women-in-mathematics/representation-gender pour des statistiques récentes sur la diversité en mathématiques. Suivant l'exemple de l'Université de Waterloo, le CEMI encourage les personnes dont l'identité de genre est sous-représentée dans les mathématiques et l’informatique à candidater et participer à nos évènements. Nous nous engageons à faire en sorte que nos évènements et nos hébergements soient accueillants pour toutes les personnes de toutes les identités de genre présentes.

Skip to the content of the web site.

Think about Math! Workshop

TAM Logo

Think About Math! (TAM) is a workshop for people of gender identities under-represented in mathematics.* The workshop is designed to ignite enthusiasm for mathematics, demonstrating that math is fun, relevant, and leads to exciting careers. TAM participants will meet with University of Waterloo Math graduates in various career fields and participate in activities that explore a variety of applications of mathematics.

Intended Audience

We welcome people with gender identities under-represented in mathematics including women, non-binary and trans folk to apply. Applicants must be in grade 9 or 10, have an interest in mathematics, and be currently enrolled in a Canadian high school or middle school.

Dates and Location

Two workshop dates are being offered in-person at the University of Waterloo in 2023.

Friday, May 5, 2023
Thursday, May 25, 2023

Applications and Selection Process

We are no longer accepting applications to the TAM workshop. Successful candidates will be notified by Friday, April 21, 2023.

Fee

Registration fee of $25 will need to be paid after invited applicants have received their confirmation package. Financial support to cover the cost of the workshop may be arranged for students in need.

*Why This Audience?

Mathematics and computer science are powerful tools, and diversity among mathematicians and computer scientists increases the potential for positive impact. One of the initiatives of the Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing is to encourage better gender diversity in the field of mathematics and computer science.The CEMC encourages all people with gender identities under-represented in mathematics and computer science including women, non-binary and trans folk to apply to and participate in all of our events. We endeavour to make our events and accommodations welcoming to people of all gender identities in attendance.

Questions?

For more information, please contact our Events Team.